Roofing and some manual labor

Jay added a layer of plywood and the felt paper to the trusses, which means the roofers can come and add the shingles.  I stopped by in the afternoon to check on the progress….and offer Jay my help.  Help = opening a beer and ordering a pizza, not sweeping up sawdust. 😦  It took a lot longer than I thought it would, probably because I would stop and look at what I still had left (but I didn’t complain!).

By the second time I stopped to offer my help, I could do the downstairs and upstairs faster than I could on my first round of only the first floor.

IMG_0868
The roofers lucked out. It was a rare day at the end of winter that got up into the 60s.

 

IMG_0844
Assessing the area I needed to sweep.

 

IMG_0846
Just starting. Ugh. I was not cut out for this. But it gave me an excuse to wear my cute rubber rain boots!

 

IMG_0845
“And once you’re done with the first floor, you can move to the second.”

 

However, in Jay’s defense, there is no way I wanted to be doing what he was doing.  He had to remove all the hay from the basement that was keeping the foundation warm – it was now getting too warm and he wanted to prevent mold and moisture from building up.  But since we don’t have basement steps yet, he used the ladder to go down, filled up a garbage can with the hay, and then used a pretty crafty pulley system to haul up the garbage can and take it to the dumpster.

I also can’t complain since I only swept up twice and he has to do it every. single. day.

IMG_0850 IMG_0843

2 thoughts on “Roofing and some manual labor

  1. This is looking sooooooo nice. I cannot wait to see it in person again. The roof is such a big step. Just think of all that cleaning as just practice for when the house is done. I know you, you will keep everything SPOTLESS! Best housekeeper EVAH! 😀

    Like

  2. oh, and when you’re done with the downstairs…and the upstairs…there’s a cute little place NORTH of you that could use your help. 😉 tee hee.

    Like

Leave a comment