On top of the world

Yay!  We’re on the second floor!  Even I ventured up the ladder to check it out. I had to, for the sake of blogging.  Would you believe that I have never, ever in my life been on a ladder?!  I’m too afraid of the What Ifs.  What if it falls backward and I smash my head?  What if it clunks and collapses its way down like Chevy Chase in Christmas Vacation?  I always play it safe in life….probably a little too safe, which is why I’m referred to as the Fun Police.  No Fun, at any time, any where.  The husband had to nail the sides so it wouldn’t move and nail a board at the bottom so it couldn’t slide.  And put up a safety railing.

Oh, I had my fun back in New York years ago on a trip with my best friend and our moms (also besties themselves), before my best friend went into the Peace Corps.  My best friend is always the instigator and the one who comes to mind when I think of fun in my younger years.  The NY experience involved my cousin, a lot of alcohol and possibly some cigarettes that seemed like a good idea ‘at the time.’  Who knows how many bars we went to.  I do remember that I tried my first Mojito and dubbed it the Best Drink Ever.

The next morning, to pour salt in my aching wounds, we had to take a harbor tour in 90 degree weather.  I literally thought I was going to die right then and there.  I whimpered to my best friend to have them call a rescue boat to come get me.  Our moms laughed and took pictures of our pathetic faces.  Which, did you know, if you are really sick on a harbor tour boat, it’s your own damn fault?!  No one will come rescue you!  The nerve.  When we got back to the hotel, I called my sister and then-boyfriend (now husband) to say my last good-byes…..all while watching Jerry Springer.  My bestie and the moms promptly took off on a carriage ride of Central Park, leaving me to cry alone about how awful I felt….and with no food!  And that’s where my fun ended.  No more fun….the expense is too great (even if the memories sure are worth it)!

Ok, enough of This Is Your Life and reminiscing.  We want more house stuff!

IMG_0747
The hubs, looking adorable as ever, standing in the first of 2 guest rooms. There are three bedrooms total. This one is on the West side of the house.

 

IMG_0748
I am standing in the guest room that the husband was standing in above, looking across the hallway (to the East), to the guest bathroom. This bathroom connects to the hall and also the other guest room, which we call my niece’s bedroom. She’s hell-bent on moving in here. She’s also fondly referred to as HRM for Her Royal Majesty. She wanted the bedroom with the connected bathroom, so she can ‘live like a queen.’ I kid you not. This girl refers to herself as 11 (yrs old), ‘on a scale of 1 to 10.’ She IS her mother’s daughter.
IMG_0749
Standing in HRM’s room. This is such a beautiful room. It faces South, but has windows on the South, East, and West walls. The longer window is an adorable three-box window with little crank-outs on each side. Her bed will go underneath. Her. I talk like she’s really going to live with us!
IMG_0751
Standing in HRM’s room, looking into the guest/her bath. All the way through you can see my closet.
IMG_0753
More of HRM’s room, looking East (the bathroom entry is on the left). The windows in this house are all huge and gorgeous, and will let in a ton of light. We can’t quite see the lake from this height, but we can see the roof of the condo building along the lake. Outside of this window, you’ll be able to see the back of the garage and the deck that comes off the family room.

 

Leave a comment